Skip to Content

CME Requirements

CME Home
CME Calendar of Events
CME Useful Links

CME licensure Requirements

On June 20, 2006 Governor Bush signed HB 699 into law. It took effect on July 1, 2006. Below is a summary of the portions of the bill regarding CME requirements. The new law provides that physicians (MDs and DOs) will now only be required to complete one (1) credit in HIV/AIDS - this must be done prior to the first renewal of the license, but once the physician has taken one (1) credit, he or she does not ever have to take it again. Most Florida physicians have already met this requirement and will not need to take the course again.

The new law provides that physicians (MDs and DOs) will now only be required to complete two (2) credits in Domestic Violence every third biennial renewal, beginning with renewals following July 1, 2006.

The HIV/AIDS and Domestic Violence courses will no longer be required prior to initial licensure. For initial licensure, the only requirement will be two (2) credits in Prevention of Medical Errors. The biennial requirement for Prevention of Medical Errors also remains the same - MDs and DOs must complete two (2) credits during each two-year licensure cycle.

** End of life and palliative care courses can no longer be used in lieu of the HIV/AIDS course or Domestic Violence course.

M.D. CME Requirements

Initial licensure:
Two (2) credits in Prevention of Medical Errors

First renewal:
One (1) credit in HIV/AIDS*
Two (2) credits in Prevention of Medical Errors

* End of life and palliative care courses can no longer be used in lieu of the HIV/AIDS course or Domestic Violence course.

Every renewal thereafter:
(38) credit hours of general CME, (2) credits of Prevention of Medical Errors

In addition, every third renewal:
Two (2) credits in Domestic Violence.

D.O. CME Requirements

Initial Licensure: 1 hour of HIV/AIDS must be taken before the end of your FIRST licensure renewal.

Each physician must complete a total of 40 hours, 20 of which must be category 1-A. Included in the 40 hours, there are (5) mandatory hours required for Florida re-licensure and cannot be taken by correspondence.

The following must be LIVE, participatory credits:

2 hours of Prevention of Medical Errors 1 hour of Risk Management 1 hour of Florida Laws & Rules 1 hour of Uses & Abuses of Controlled Substances. In addition to the above 5 hours, you are required to take 2 hours of Domestic Violence every 6 years.

REMEMBER: Any FOMA CME meeting you attend you will receive all of your MANDATORY hours.

Outside Links

Although not sponsored by Holy Cross Hospital, some other excellent CME opportunities are also available online.

My Health Patient Portal